Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

May 16, 2017

The Honorable Mick Mulvaney Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street Northwest Washington, District of Columbia 20503

Dear Director Mulvaney:

We are writing to express our concern about reported severe reductions to the Office of the National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) in the fiscal 2018 budget that would put in jeopardy programs that provide needed assistance to state and local law enforcement and community coalitions to fight the growing opioid epidemic.

As you know, ONDCP has played a critical role in coordinating the nation's drug control efforts. Since 1988 this office has enjoyed bipartisan support for its mission of protecting public safety and promoting public health. The office's National Drug Control Strategy has provided an important blueprint to guide and coordinate the efforts of federal, state, and local partners to ensure an evidence-based and accountable strategy to address the devastating impact of drugs on our communities.

The need for a coordinated, effective, and accountable approach to substance abuse and drug trafficking is greater than ever. The National Institute of Drug Abuse reports that the number of overdose deaths from prescription opioids increased by a factor of 2.8 between 2002 and 2015. The number of heroin deaths increased by a factor of 6.2 in the same period. This epidemic is being felt in communities throughout the United States and the effects have been devastating.

The High Intensity Drug Trafficking Areas (HIDTA) program, overseen by ONDCP, has been a critical component of the National Drug Control Strategy. This program aids in the coordination of federal, state, and local drug task forces to disrupt or dismantle drug trafficking organizations. It also engages and provides support to state and federal prosecutors to convict individuals associated with drug trafficking organizations. In recent years, HIDTA seizures have yielded billions of dollars that transnational criminal organizations would have used to reinvest in the illegal drug trade. Instead, this cost-effective program has reinvested proceeds in efforts to further address the causes and effects of substance abuse.

The office's Drug Free Communities (DFC) Program has been similarly effective. Its approach to addressing local problems with community-driven solutions has consistently shown reductions in past 30-day use of alcohol, tobacco, and prescription drugs. The program is designed with strict accountability provisions to ensure the highest levels of local support in solving the substance abuse crisis each community faces. By law, there is a cap on the amount of money that can be spent on administrative and overhead expenses, which ensures that the

maximum amount of funding goes to DFC coalitions that have the power to reduce youth substance use in their own communities. Coalitions are required to be in existence and fully functioning for a minimum of six months before they are eligible to apply, and they must have baseline data to show that they have full knowledge of local drug issues, as well as matching federal funding with dollar-for-dollar local funds.

For almost two decades, ONDCP has had a critical role in ensuring the nation's drug policy is effective, accountable, and evidence-based. The Office and the programs it supports are uniquely positioned to address the causes and effects of the current opioid crisis with proven strategies and broad reach. For these important programs to remain effective, we believe they must continue to be funded fully and coordinated effectively. We are gravely concerned that any interruption would exacerbate the crises in our communities and we remain committed in working together to reverse the damaging effects that opioids and other drugs have had on American families.

We respectfully request clarification on the Administration's intended actions to ensure the continuity of HIDTA and DFC and look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Member of Congress

SANDER LEVIN Member of Congress

ahus

BILL JOHNSON Member of Congress

BRIAN K. FITZPATRIC Member of Congress

Danny L. Onio

DANNYK. DAVIS Member of Congress

TIM RYAN / Member of Congress

FILEMON VELA Member of Congress

Lauser

RICK LARSEN Member of Congress

PATRICK MEEHAN Member of Congress

DAVID P. ROE, M.D. Member of Congress

min

SUZANNE BONAMICI Member of Congress

itt Evan

DWIGHT EVANS Member of Congress

Mo

PAUL TONKO Member of Congress

TRUP Member of Congress

Debbie Dingel

Member of Congress

PETER A. DeFAZIO Member of Congress

JOHN J. FASO Member of Congress

STEVE COHEN Member of Congress

Member of Congress

STEPHANIE MURPHY Member of Congress

DONALD M. PAYNE, JR

Member of Congress

FRANK PALLONE, JR. Member of Congress

WakenColema

BONNIE WATSON COLEMAN Member of Congress

ANDRÉ CARSON Member of Congress

RAJA KRISHNAMOORTHI Member of Congress

Carl Show

CAROL SHEA-PORTER Member of Congress

BOBBY L. RUSH Member of Congress

ELEANOR HOLMES NORTON Member of Congress

BRENDAL. LAWRENCE

Member of Congress

B. M DAVID B. McKINLI Member of Congress

Ferri Sewell

TERRI A. SEWELL Member of Congress

DAVID P. JOYCE Member of Congress

1

Tuille Kabal- Mard LUCILLE ROYBAL-

Member of Congress

PETER WELCH Member of Congress

STEVE STIVERS Member of Congress

fill

DAVID N. CICILLINE Member of Congress

na

BARBARA LEE Member of Congress

lats DORIS MATSUI

Member of Congress

m

ANTHONY G. BROWN Member of Congress

PR JAYAPAI Member of Congress

ADAM SMITH Member of Congress

VICENTE GONZALEZ Member of Congress

Dal B. De Michelle

MICHELLE LUJAN GRISHAM Member of Congress



SEAN PATRICK MALONEY Member of Congress

VAL BUTLER DEMINGS Member of Congress

TIM WALBERG

Member of Congress

mille

JIMMY PANETTA Member of Congress

JOHN KATKO Member of Congress

JAMIE RASKIN Member of Congress

RYAN A. COSTELLO Member of Congress

JAMES P. McGOVERN Member of Congress

MARCY KAPTUR Member of Congress

MIKE QUIGLEY Member of Congress

M.

DANIEL M. DONOVAN, JR. Member of Congress

1 Rothfus

KEITH J. ROTHFUS Member of Congress

Unii No

NIKI TSONGAS Member of Congress

JOHN A. YARMUTH

JOHN A. YARMUTI Member of Congress

Van

EVAN H. JENKINS Member of Congress

DEREK KILMER Member of Congress

mit

JOE COURTNEY Member of Congress

JOHN K. DELANEY Member of Congress

CHELLIE PINGREE Member of Congress

LOUISE McINTOSH SLAUGHTER Member of Congress

CHERI BUSTOS Member of Congress

BEN RAY LUJÁN Member of Congress

ceachim

A. DONALD McEACHIN Member of Congress

BRENDAN F. BOYLE Member of Congress

DAVID SCOTT

Member of Congress

MARCIA L. FUDGE Member of Congress

JOSEPHP. KENNEDY, III Member of Congress

ANN MCLANE KUSTER

ANN McLANE KUSTER Member of Congress

KATHLEEN M. RICE Member of Congress

VD

ANNA G. ESHOO Member of Congress

inda J. Sanche

LINDA T. SÁNCHEZ Member of Congress