Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

February 28, 2022

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Biden:

As we submit this letter to you, Russia has launched an unprovoked, large-scale invasion on Ukraine, leaving that country in the midst of an armed conflict to maintain its sovereignty. There are tens of thousands of Ukrainian nationals on a nonimmigrant visa in the United States, and without action by your Administration, they could be forced to return to a nation under siege. We urge your Administration to use all available pathways under the law to protect such individuals, including a designation of Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for Ukraine or a grant of Deferred Enforced Departure (DED) for Ukrainian nationals, and Special Student Relief (SSR) for Ukrainian students.

Section 244(b)(1)(A) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) permits the Secretary of Homeland Security to designate a country for TPS if there is an "ongoing armed conflict" such that the return of nationals to that country would "pose a serious threat to their personal safety." Similarly, nationals of a country may receive a temporary administrative stay of removal in the form of DED, by Executive Order or a Presidential Memorandum, under such circumstances. For F-1 students from parts of the world that are experiencing "emergent circumstances," including "wars and military conflicts," the Secretary of Homeland Security may announce SSR, which allows for the suspension of certain regulatory requirements, including duration of status, full course of study, and off-campus employment eligibility.

As a result of the recent invasion, Ukraine clearly meets these criteria. Amid Russian assaults on several Ukrainian cities, hundreds have already been killed and injured. Russian forces' capture of the Chernobyl nuclear plant risks the release of radioactive dust throughout the country. Ukrainian officials have confirmed that civilian targets have now come under fire as Russia continues to launch heavy shelling and airstrikes. The assault has forced thousands of Ukrainians to flee west, and harrowing images show innocent civilians seeking shelter in subway stations. In a statement, you indicated that Putin's premeditated war "will bring a catastrophic

loss of life and human suffering." The ongoing invasion is the largest ground war Europe has seen since the Second World War.

The Ukrainian people have proven to be incredibly brave in defending their homeland. We know they will continue to resist Russian aggression. However, there are approximately 30,000 Ukrainian nationals in the United States who would be eligible for relief under TPS or DED, and roughly 2,000 students in the United States eligible for SSR. We cannot force these individuals to return to a nation likely to be mired in prolonged armed conflict. To do so would be to abandon our nation's commitment to protecting human rights. In this time of crisis, we must reaffirm our commitment to America's most sacred values and ensure Ukrainian nationals in the United States are provided a safe haven.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this important issue. We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Mike Quigley Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Ted Lieu Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

marcy Xaptur

Marcy Kaptur Member of Congress

Here M.D.

Andy Harris Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Joe Wilson Member of Congress

David P. Joyce Member of Congress

/S/______ Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

/S/_____ Debra K. Ross Member of Congress

/S/_____ Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

/S/____ Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

/S/_____ Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

___/S/___ Jamaal Bowman Member of Congress

/S/_____ Diana DeGette Member of Congress

/S/____ Joe Courtney Member of Congress

/S/_____ Barbara Lee Member of Congress

/S/____ Jim Himes Member of Congress

/S/____ Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress ____/S/___ Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

/S/_____ James P. McGovern Member of Congress

/S/ Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

/S/ Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

/S/_____ Brad Sherman Member of Congress

/S/_____ Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

/S/ Eric Swalwell Member of Congress

/S/ Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

/S/____ Tim Ryan Member of Congress

/S/_____ Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

/S/_____ John Yarmuth Member of Congress /S/ Frank Pallone, Jr. Member of Congress

/S/_____ Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

/S/_____ Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

/S/ Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

/S/_____ Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

/S/_____ Brian Higgins Member of Congress

/S/ Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

/S/ Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

/S/ Donald S. Beyer, Jr. Member of Congress

/S/ Adam Schiff Member of Congress /S/____ Mike Levin Member of Congress

/S/____ Tom Malinowski Member of Congress

/S/_____ Juan Vargas Member of Congress

/S/____ Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

/S/_____ Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

____/S/___ Anthony Gonzalez Member of Congress

/S/ Kathy Castor Member of Congress

/S/_____ Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

/S/______ Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

/S/_____ Susan Wild Member of Congress

/S/ Jesus G. "Chuy" Garcia Member of Congress ____/S/___ Kaiali'I Kahele Member of Congress

/S/ Raul M. Grijalva Member of Congress

/S/ Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

/S/ Peter Welch Member of Congress

<u>_____/S/___</u> Bill Foster Member of Congress

/S/_____ Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

/S/ Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

/S/ Mark Takano Member of Congress

/S/_____ Dwight Evans Member of Congress

/S/ Norma J. Torres Member of Congress

/S/_____Kathy Manning Member of Congress /S/_____ Suzan DelBene Member of Congress

<u>/S/</u> C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

/S/ Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

/S/_____ Andy Levin Member of Congress

/S/ Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

/S/ Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

/S/____ Sean Casten Member of Congress

/S/_____ Lois Frankel Member of Congress

/S/_____ Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

/S/ Doris Matsui Member of Congress

/S/____ Judy Chu Member of Congress /S/____ Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

/S/______ Hakeem Jeffries Member of Congress

/S/____ Carolyn Bourdeax Member of Congress

____/S/___ Teresa Leger Fernandez Member of Congress

/S/_____ Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

/S/____ Darren Soto Member of Congress

/S/____ Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

/S/_____ Jared Huffman Member of Congress

/S/____ Donald Norcross Member of Congress

/S/_____ Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

 ____/S/___ Jason Crow Member of Congress

/S/ Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

____/S/___ Karen Bass Member of Congress

/S/______ Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress

/S/_____ Steve Womack Member of Congress

____/S/___ Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

/S/ Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

/S/_____ David E. Price Member of Congress

/S/____ Dina Titus Member of Congress

/S/_____ Sara Jacobs Member of Congress /S/ Frank J. Mrvan Member of Congress

/S/ Mark Pocan Member of Congress

/S/ Marie Newman Member of Congress

/S/_____ John B. Larson Member of Congress

/S/ Jackie Speier Member of Congress

/S/ Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

/S/ David Trone Member of Congress

/S/ Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

/S/_____ Julia Brownley Member of Congress

/S/ Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

CC: The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas, Secretary of Homeland Security