Bipartisan House Auto Caucus Urges Administration Action on International Semiconductor Shortage

February 26, 2021
Press Release

Washington, D.C. — Today, House Auto Caucus co-chairs Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) and Representatives Mike Kelly (R-PA) and caucus members Debbie Dingell (D-Mich.) and Fred Upton (R-Mich.), and 27 other members of Congress asked the Biden Administration in a letter to recognize and take action on the domestic shortage of semiconductor wafer chips.


“As members of the House Auto Caucus and who hail from districts with a significant American auto industry presence, we write to express our deep concerns regarding the ongoing global shortage of automotive-grade semiconductors," wrote the Representatives. "This shortage poses risk to the entire U.S. auto and trucking industry and the over 15 million American jobs the industry supports. We seek your assistance in finding a swift and workable solution to the shortage by working closely with government and industry officials in the U.S. and abroad, where these semiconductor wafers are predominantly produced.”


The letter is available here.




The COVID-19 pandemic caused a dramatic increase in demand for semiconductors for production in consumer electronics such as home computers, which strained the supply chain for automobile manufacturers. That led to a reduction in vehicle production, which has already resulted in temporary layoffs and shift reductions for American workers.


The letter was also signed by Representatives Andy Barr (R-Ky.), Julia Brownley (D-Calif), Andre Carson (D-Ind.), Gerry Connolly (D-Va.), Sharice Davids (D-Kan.), Drew Ferguson (R-Ga.), Bill Foster (D-Ill.), Anthony Gonzalez (R-Ohio), Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.), Bill Huzienga (R-Mich.), Bill Johnson (R-Ohio), Robin Kelly (D-Ill.), Dan Kildee (D-Mich.), Brenda Lawrence (D-Mich.), Ralph Norman (R-S.C.), Scott Perry (R-Pa.), Tim Ryan (D-Ohio), Terri Sewell (D-Ala.), Adam Smith (D-Wash.) Haley Stevens (D-Mich.) Steve Stivers (R-Ohio), Van Taylor (R-Texas), William Timmons (R- S.C.), Dina Titus (D-Nev.), Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.), Juan Vargas (D-Calif.), Tim Walberg (R-Mich.).