Congressional Ukraine Caucus Co-Chairs Introduce Bipartisan Resolution Condemning Council of Europe Decision Restoring Russian Voting Rights

July 3, 2019
Press Release

Washington, DC – Today, Co-Chairs of the Bipartisan Congressional Ukraine Caucus Representatives Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), and Andy Harris (R-MD), introduced a bipartisan House resolution condemning the Council of Europe’s decision to restore Russia’s voting rights on the Council, a decision opposed by most member states formerly in the Soviet-Bloc.


“The Council of Europe’s decision to restore full voting rights to Russia and its dictator Vladimir Putin is deeply concerning,” the Co-Chairs said in a joint statement. “Russia was justifiably expelled from the Council of Europe after its malevolent invasion of Ukrainian sovereignty in Crimea. Not only have Russian forces remained in Crimea, Russia has continued to wage a deadly war in the Donbass region of Ukraine, as well as carry out destabilizing disinformation campaigns across the globe undermining the world’s democratic institutions. This includes Russia’s dangerous naval assault and illegal seizure of 24 Ukrainian sailors and 3 vessels in the Kerch Strait, which are still in Russian captivity. Russia must not be rewarded for its repeated anti-democratic behavior. We ask that all of our House colleagues support this bipartisan resolution condemning the Council of Europe’s decision to restore Russian voting rights.”


The text of the resolution can be viewed here.