Kaptur Applauds House Passage of The Save The Internet Act

April 10, 2019
Press Release

Washington, D.C. — Today, Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur (OH-09) voted to pass the bipartisan H.R. 1644, the Save the Internet Act. The legislation restores popular net neutrality protections for consumers and small businesses after President Trump ended these vital protections in a partisan move last year. The Save the Internet Act passed the House by a vote of 232-190.


“President Trump’s repeal of net neutrality was an anti-consumer, partisan political attack on a free and open internet,” said Rep. Kaptur. “The Trump Administration’s repeal placed him on the side of corporate interests over consumers, despite net neutrality’s overwhelming popularity among Democratic and Republican voters.”


“The Save the Internet Act would restore net neutrality protections and make the internet better, cheaper and faster for consumers, entrepreneurs and small businesses in Ohio and across the entire United States. It is my honor to join members on both sides of the aisle in passing this important legislation on behalf of Ohioans and Americans across the country. I urge its swift passage in the Senate.”


The bicameral Save the Internet Act creates popular, bipartisan and targeted net neutrality protections, and codifies the FCC’s 2015 Open Internet Order similar to last year’s Congressional Review Act that passed the Senate and had bipartisan support in the House:

  • Strengthening transparency protections, enacting specific rules against blocking, throttling and paid prioritization, and empowering the FCC to investigate consumer and business complaints and fine internet service providers for violations of the Communications Act;
  • Protecting consumers against unjust, unreasonable and discriminatory practices, and promoting competition;
  • Ensuring consumers can make informed decisions when shopping for internet plans; and
  • Restoring the FCC’s authority to fund broadband access for rural communities, working Americans, veterans, seniors, students and disabled Americans.