Skip to main content

Kaptur Applauds President Biden’s Replacement of USPS Board Members

November 19, 2021

Washington, D.C. – Today, Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur (OH-09) released the following statement applauding President Joe Biden for his decision to nominate two new members to the U.S. Postal Service Board of Governors, replacing board chair Ron Bloom and board member John Barger.

“As one of the leading voices in Congress to end the assault on the United States Postal Service, I applaud President Biden for nominating new leaders that will fight to restore and protect USPS for the future,” said Rep. Kaptur. “The years long effort to dismantle USPS from within must come to an end. Emboldened by an uninspired board, Postmaster Louis DeJoy has taken a wrecking ball to the Postal Service, and demoralized the hardworking men and women who have persevered through it all. Postal Service management’s disastrous decisions, backward policies, and failure to equip postal workers with proper state of the art equipment have led to Northern Ohio being one of the worst regions in the nation for on-time delivery. We in Ohio are hopeful that new leadership at USPS will help reverse course, and ensure our region receives the service it deserves.”

More information on Rep. Kaptur’s efforts to combat Postal Service management’s assault on USPS can be found here.


For more information, contact Chris Dalton at or (202) 897-7438.