Kaptur, Members urge Trump Administration to fund program that helps seniors get access to fresh fruits and vegetables

April 6, 2017
Press Release
Letter argues for robust funding for Senior Farmers Market Nutrition Program

WASHINGTON, D.C. – This week in a letter to Office of Management and Budget Director Mick Mulvaney, Members of Congress led by Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), urged the Trump Administration to fully fund the Senior Farmers Market Nutrition Program (SFMNP). The SFMNP program provides funding to help seniors get access to fresh, locally produced fruits and vegetables.

Cosigners in this effort are Reps. Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA-02), Chellie Pingree (ME-01), Gwen Moore (WI-04), Rosa L. DeLauro (CT-03), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), Marcia L. Fudge (OH-11) and Jim McGovern (MA-02).

Key excerpts from the letter:

“Specifically, we urge that you close the current shortfall in SFMNP in order to serve the growing requests among low to moderate-income seniors for nutritious, locally grown fruits and vegetables. This program not only directly addresses the serious national challenge of nutrient short senior diets but also contribute mightily to the economic growth for local farmers.

With far too many seniors still having to skip meals just to make ends meet, it is crucial for SFMNP to receive adequate funding to expand its reach to meet true demand. Rising Medicare costs and prescription drug prices are putting real economic pressure on America’s seniors.”

Read the full letter:PDF iconKaptur Senior Farmers Market Nutrition Program April 2017.pdf

CONTACT:
(Kaptur) Joshua.Stewart@mail.house.gov
(Bishop) Jonathan.Black@mail.house.gov
(Pingree) Andrew.Colvin@mail.house.gov
(Moore) Eric.Harris@mail.house.gov 
(DeLauro) Ron.Boehmer@mail.house.gov
(Lee) Emma.Lydon@mail.house.gov
(Roybal-Allard) Benjamin.Soskin@mail.house.gov
(Fudge) Lauren.Williams@mail.house.gov
(McGovern) Abraham.White@mail.house.gov

# # #