Ukraine Caucus Co-Chairs on Passage of Ukraine Related Bills in House in Face of Escalating Russian Aggression

December 13, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Congressional Ukraine Caucus Chairs, Representatives Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Andy Harris (R-MD), Sander Levin (D-MI), and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) issued a statement after the House of Representatives unanimously passed three Ukraine-related bills in the face of Russia’s military escalation in the Kerch Strait.

“We applaud the passage of the H.Res. 1162, which condemns Russia’s brazen aggression against Ukrainian ships in the Kerch Strait. This same week, the House unanimously passed, H.Res.931, which recognizes the grave crime of the Holodomor Famine-Genocide against the Ukrainian people. We also applaud the passage of H.Res. 1035, which expresses the House’s unanimous opposition to Nord Stream II as a Russian ploy to weaponize energy against Ukraine.

“These bills send a clear, bipartisan message to the Ukrainian people that we stand in strong solidarity against Russian aggression. We thank Chairman Royce and Ranking Member Engel for their continued leadership on these critical issues.

“Tragically, Russian Dictator Vladimir Putin continues to test the resolve of NATO and the western alliance, and seeks to slowly but surely whittle away the Ukrainian people’s sovereignty and its democratic progress. History shows us that appeasement only emboldens dictators.

“We urge the international community to raise the costs on Russia due to its escalation and aggression against the people of Ukraine.”