Ukraine Caucus Co-Chairs release statement affirming support for Ukraine on anniversary of Russia’s illegal occupation of Crimea

March 20, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Congressional Ukraine Caucus Chairs, Representatives Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Andy Harris (R-MD), Sander Levin (D-MI), and Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) issued a statement reaffirming support for Ukraine on the anniversary of Russia’s annexation and illegal occupation of Crimea:

“As Russia’s illegal occupation of Crimea from Ukraine enters its fourth year, we reaffirm our commitment to an independent and sovereign Ukraine free from Russia’s interference. Since the invasion of Crimea four years ago, Russian authorities have especially targeted human rights advocates, journalists, civil society advocates, and Crimean Tartars in efforts to suppress their freedom of expression, movement, and association, in total disregard for the rule of law.

“We continue to stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the people of Ukraine and reaffirm our commitment to Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity.  We firmly support Crimea as part of Ukraine and for Crimea-related sanctions to remain.”